Author: Ron Graham

History of Israel

This lesson highlights a bewildering characteristic of the wilderness Israelites —their frequent acts of disobedience.

Disobedience (Part 1)

Time ~ 3. Wandering in the Wilderness
Span ~ 40 years
Books ~ Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy
Figures ~ Moses
Begins with ~ Exodus from Egypt across Red Sea
Ends with ~ Entry into promised Land across Jordan

1 At Every Stage

As we have seen, the period of Wandering in the Wilderness falls into three parts:

1. The three-month journey from the Red Sea to Sinai,
2. The two-year encampment at Sinai,
3. Wandering 38 years before entering the promised land.

Disobedience and rebellion characterise each of these periods:

After the Exodus the people were quick to start grumbling (Exo 15).

At Sinai they made and worshipped a golden calf (Exo 32). Nadab and Abihu did not abide by God's commandments for worship, but did as they saw fit (Lev 10).

After Sinai there were many instances of disobedience.

2 Bible Summary (Numbers 10-36)